deafeningdecibel.com deafeningdecibel.com
   Index Page :> About Us :> Privacy Policy :> Terms & Conditions :> Place Your Link :> Add Your Article
Search:   
Get Free Links
 
   

Home Family & Garden

   

Software & Networking

   

Drink & Food

   

Business & Commerce

   

Children

   

Automobile & Automotive

   

Recreation & Entertainment

   

Law & Politics

   

Finance & Investment

   

Self Enhancement

   

Games & Play

   

Research & Science

   

Relationship & Lifestyle

   

Online Shopping

   

Travel & Accommodation

   

Employment & Careers

   

Art & Culture

   

Medical Care

   

People & Communities

   

Estate & Realty

   

Academics & Education

   

Sports

   

Health & Hygiene

   

News & Media

 

Index Page » Software & Networking » Firewalls & Network Security
 

Money Mule Email Scam Hits U.S.

 

Imagine this you open up your email box and an international company is offering you a dream job you can be an agent for them a financial intermediary receiving payments for them and transferring money to them, and, naturally, keeping a commission on each transaction.

Theres no investment, no money required. They are just looking for people with a good reputation that they can trust with their money.

The company needs a local agent because US banking laws restrict the accounts that a foreign company has, unless they have a U.S. citizen as a registered agent of the company.

It sounds really good. After all, the company is overseas and it needs a U.S. Agent to receive payments and all you have to do is wire-transfer the money to the company account overseas, less your commission.

There seems to be no way to lose, since you wont be putting out any of YOUR money and YOU have control over all incoming and outgoing payments.

You cant lose, can you?

Unfortunately you can. Take this job and you become a money mule an unwitting participant in a scheme to defraud others. Heres how it works: The company may or may not have a good looking website with what sounds like a legitimate name, Techhydraulik and says its based in Germany.

Sounds like it is a technology company having something to do with hydraulics, doesnt it?

However, it is really an Internet front for Bad Guys who need to be able to transfer money out of the United States from people that they have defrauded through Phishing.

Phishing is the practice of setting up fake bank sites that look just like the real bank site (for example, Wells Fargo) and sending emails to millions of people saying that there is an irregularity in their Wells Fargo account and to click on the link to confirm your information or your account will be closed.

When you click on the link and fill out the fields for your account number, username and passwords, it sends the information to the Bad Guys who empty your account. Believe it or not, tens of thousands of people fall for this each year.

The Bad Guys then send the payment to their agent (you), and you wire-transfer the money, less your commission, to their overseas account.

Several weeks or months later, perhaps, there is a knock at your door and the FBI wants to know why you are receiving stolen funds. You explain that the funds are not stolen, they are payments for equipment purchased by people from Techhydraulik, and you are their legitimate agent.

You may not be held criminally liable since you were an unknowing dupe, but you may certainly be liable for repayment of all of the money that passed through your hands.

And of course, the real perpetrators have long ago closed that overseas account and disappeared.

How can you protect yourself?

Go to www.betterwhois.com and look up the information about the companys website. Youll be able to see when the .com was registered.

Typically, the names are registered just a few days before the email is sent out, because the individual websites are generally only up for a few days or weeks, to make it hard for authorities to trace. For example, techhydraulik.com was registered on August 2nd and the fraudulent email was sent out on August 15. Chances are the website will be gone shortly.

The techhydraulik.com website is hosted by computers in Russia where laws are lax and recovery is unlikely. Its also possible that if you did visit the techhydraulik site, your computer would be infested with password stealers, key loggers and spyware.

The Internet is a wonderful tool. It is also a place where you need to protect yourself from becoming a victim.

Sign up for the free "The Blinking Cursor News" to stay on top of the latest scams and shams on the Internet.

Author: Steve Freedman
 
Author Bio:

Steve Freedman

Steve Freedman is a Webmaster with many clients at the top of the search engines.

In July of 2004, his new computer was hijacked by a "Browser HIJACK Object".

That started his research on PC Security and the launch of his PC Security eBook "Help! Something's Got Hold of My Computer and It Won't Let Go!" available at HelpProtectMyComputer.com.

He is committed to educating consumers on PC Security.

This article can be searched using: network security, firewalls, computer network security, network security software, free firewalls
 
 
 

Related Articles

 
A Very Simple 3 Step Process To Find That Perfect Domain Name Using Some Free Online Tools
 
How to Earn an Income With Google Adsense
 
Contribution of Weblog As A Tool Of Online Marketing- A Panorama
 
The Easiest Way For Beginners To Make Money Online
 
PDA Maintenance and Security
 
7 Reasons NOT to Take Your Laptop on Holiday!
 
Finding Friends by Playing Online Games
 
Are Your Subscribers Receiving Your Newsletter?
 
Professional Hosting
 
MS Internet Explorer: Not the Only Game in Town
 
 
 
Index Page :> Privacy Policy :> Terms & Conditions  
© 2006-2008 www.deafeningdecibel.com All Rights Reserved Worldwide.